Yes, Eurocrat

I started a new job recently. After spending the best part of four years faffing around Brussels, getting to know the European institutions and those who work in and around them (through work, GAA or serving them in the bar), I am now being paid to observe them and what they do, and then to write about it.

Golden, you say. I could do it in my sleep. This is true, to a certain extent (in fact yesterday, I may have actually fallen asleep in an AGRI meeting on market volatility and CMO in the new CAP), but it is not enough. I have a few minutes on either side of the odd committee meeting, when I have no internet access, so I’m going to try to write about my observations in the European Parliament (henceforth to be known as the EP).

Take today. When I was told to go to a meeting on stem cell research and Horizon 2020, I jumped at the chance to cover something different. Only when I was leaving the office did they mention that it was about the ethics of stem cell research and there would probably be some religious twist to it.

So here I am. I have seen at least two priests. But I got a free lunch. I’ll hold off on holding a mid-meeting demonstration.

Leave a Reply

