What resolution?: Spicy Winter Root Vegetable Soup

Thankfully “blog more often” wasn’t one of my New Year’s resolutions (NYR). Otherwise I would be hanging my head in shame. I had another post planned, but then made this soup and raved so much about it on Whatsapp (“NYR #1 – Don’t use Whatsapp at work” is going well, so I have to catch up on everything in the evenings), that I had to write about it first.

Brussels is undecided on the January weather situation. Yesterday, it was 14 degrees. Today, the sky was blue and the sun shone in a decidedly spring-like way. In a Seven Brides for Seven Brothers kind of way (if that link doesn’t go to the right spot, skip to about 55 seconds in to see what I mean). Meanwhile, Ireland looks like this and the US is doing this (love the gay pride effect).

But I know you, Brussels. You can’t pull the wool over these eyes. I know that you are waiting for me to go for a run without gloves or walk to work in a jacket instead of a coat and then BAM! It will be snow central.

In anticipation of that shivery day, I’ve dusted down my kicky neon orange ski jacket and I’ve made this soup. I made a variation of it when I was at home over Christmas, using coconut milk instead of regular milk and leaving out the cumin, chilli and curry paste, but these three ingredients really make the difference.

I still managed to break one of my resolutions: “NYR #5 – Be more mindful”. This was supposed to cover all aspects of my life, including eating, but I just inhaled two bowls of this soup without thinking twice about it. I’ll work on it.

2014-01-08 21.04.55

Spicy Winter Root Vegetable Soup

Ingredients:

2 tbsp olive oil

2 onions, chopped

1 clove of garlic

2 large/3 small sweet potatoes, chopped

4 carrots, chopped

3 parsnips, chopped

1 red chilli, roughly chopped

Thumb-sized chunk of ginger, chopped into small pieces

75g dried green lentils

1 tbsp ground cumin

I tsp red curry paste

1.3l vegetable stock

425ml low-fat milk/400ml can of coconut milk

Coriander leaves, chopped

Method:

Heat the olive oil in a large pot. Add the onions and the garlic and let them fry on a low heat for 5 minutes until they have softened. Throw in the rest of the vegetables and cook for another 5 minutes. Add the chilli and ginger for another 2 minutes.

Add the lentils. Mix the ground cumin and red curry paste into the vegetable stock (this gets rid of the clumpiness risk, hate that!) and then add to the pot. Bring the mix to the boil, then lower the heat and allow it to simmer for around 25 minutes until the vegetables are tender and the lentils are soft.

Blend until smooth, adding the milk/coconut milk and extra water/stock, if necessary.

Serve with chopped coriander. This soup can be frozen successfully, so you, like me, can plenish that freezer in anticipation of the cold snap that is undoubtedly around the corner.

Happy New Year!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. The cold snap is here, at least here in Philly it is. so I guess I will have to try this soup, it looks amazing!

    Like

    1. You definitely should – the spices give a lovely warming kick 🙂

      Hope it warms up soon. Our blue skied spell ended today. The deluge is on!

      Like

Leave a Reply

