Cork Culture: the Crawford

image

I’m tired. This holiday business is exhausting. All the walking, cooking and blogging is catching up on me. Hopefully an early night ahead of a weekend in Galway will do the job and I’ll be full of joy and energy. Mom and Grace won’t know what hit them.

image

image

Today, after getting a sassy new haircut, I went all cultured in the Crawford Art Gallery, a Cork institution. I remember visiting it when I was much younger and not being especially impressed (the lack of Leonardo DiCaprio no doubt a factor). William Crawford seems to have been a good egg, but they may have gone OTT in the memorial to him.

image

As an older and wiser person, I was glad to find that the cafe is lovely and very reasonably priced.

image

As a thrifty person, I was even more glad to find that the gallery is free. Four beautiful letters: F-R-E-E.

Here are some of my favorite items, found in the exhibition area dedicated to the Yeats Brothers, with bonus 1916 material. I really like the mixture of art and poetry.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

That last one of Terence MacSwiney’s funeral gives me chills.

So if you have a spare hour in Cork, pop in. Did I mention it was free?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. brennanjane says:

    Love that Yeats poem.
    I highly recommend a visit to Glasnevin Cemetery on your next trip to Dublin. I’m sure ‘Discover Dublin Diva’ Mide Ni S would be delighted to accompany you… https://dromthornrecipes.wordpress.com/2014/06/08/a-tour-of-a-cemetery/

    Like

    1. Definitely. Please blog again, I love your work šŸ˜Š

      Like

Leave a Reply

