Running Vancouver

image

No, I haven’t taken over the city. But I have a confession: there was a moment when I almost jumped up and shouted “Sign me up for the 2017 Run Van! #lifegoals!!!”. This was at the stage when this year’s marathon runners had started to pass my spot beside Second Beach, where a band with an Irish singer had set up camp.

image

The sun was shining, the sky was blue and everything was just ridiculously beautiful. So beautiful that I forgot to put on suncream, but that’s neither here nor there.

I’m not sure of the result, but I assume these guys were in the Top Two. They passed me a good 10 minutes before anyone else, when there was only 10km left in the marathon.

image

The Seawall, which marked those last 10km, was closed until 1pm, so I was able to walk it when it was still quiet. Apparently on a standard sunny Sunday, it would be packed.

image

Look at those wide open spaces!

image

image

The long and the short of it is that Vancouver is gorgeous. It’s not news to anyone who has been here, but confirms that they weren’t lying.

image

image

Although I do question why NOBODY ever mentioned the Little Mermaid replica, The Girl in the Wetsuit (seagull optional).

image

Fortunately, I did not have anyone to a) proclaim my #lifegoal intentions to and b) to slap me for using the hashtag #lifegoals, even in my head. So I won’t be running any marathon, but I will get up in the morning and run the Sea Wall. That’s good enough.

image

Leave a Reply

