Drops of Vancouver

image

I had another post completely ready to go this morning but there was a problem with the uploading and by the time it was resolved, I didn’t want to post it after all. It was about the Museum of Vancouver and wasn’t wholly bad, but I didn’t have much to say about it. This was because it left me confused and with a little furrow in my brow. This furrow is almost gone now. You see, I found the layout and wording of the museum exhibits to be quite random and abstract. I thought it was me, but once I got walking this morning (having changed my plans to suit the weather), I realised the issue. The random wording continued in the signs along the Sea Wall to Canada Place, until I reached this art installation, The Drop.

image

The explanation offered by the artists was so out-there, that I have decided that they were also responsible for writing the other signs along my route through cultural Vancouver.

image

That cleared up, I continued my wander, taking in the outside of the Marine building, with its seahorses, lobsters and ships.

image

image

Further on, the Pendulum gallery in the HSBC bank reminded me of a modern take on the Pantheon in Paris. The difference being that the Pantheon combines science and religion, while this combines art and commerce.

image

I’m not sure it would impress Sean McCarthy as much as Foucault’s work.

A quick coffee in Mario’s Coffee Expresso bar shocked away  any sleep that might have remained in my system.

image

On I went to McLeod’s second-hand bookshop, which was my perfect bookshop. Stacks of books everywhere and staff who knew everything that needed to be known, not just about books but about taxi ranks and anything else customers asked for. On this particular morning, they were frantically preparing for the arrival of set designers for the latest Lemony Snicket film, who were borrowing books. It’s filming in Vancouver at the moment and if I bump into Neil Patrick Harris, I will gush about his Tony opening performances.

image

My objective was to find a book by a Canadian or a woman and lo, I found a book by a Canadian woman, Anne-Marie MacDonald. It’s nice and hefty and therefore perfect for my time on Vancouver Island.

I’m currently sitting in Meat & Bread, a sandwich shop in Gastown, where I have devoured the daily special, containing turkey thigh, crispy skin, sesame aioli, hot salsa and spinach. I was glad no-one knew me, for there was much licking of fingers and smacking of lips.

image

On now to explore Gastown further. The sun has appeared so I can’t waste it.

UPDATE!!
Just across the road, I found Cafe Bambo where Martha worked when she came to Vancouver as a student. So I’m having another coffee in the sun, having dropped her name liberally enough to figure out that no-one working today remembers her. Not awkward at all, but a lovely spot nonetheless.

image

Leave a Reply

