Tofino, not Tolfino

image

It’s been Tolfino in my phone dictionary since January, when I booked my journey, but not until I actually got on the bus in Vancouver did I realise that I was heading to Tofino “no L” for three weeks.

Risky business, some might say. A seven hour trip, all the way to the end of the road for three weeks. There is nothing between me and Russia except a couple of islands, icebergs and whales. But the sunsets alone have been worth the trip.

image

But I’ve been incredibly lucky in my accommodation, Tofino Travellers Guesthouse, a step-up from a hostel five minutes from the sea. The top photo is from the deck outside the front door, where I was sitting a few moments ago. The nearest beach is about 10 minutes walk from here, down a little winding trail.

image

image

It’s beautiful during the day and the perfect spot for sunsets and campfires in the evening.

image

image

The best part of my decision so far has been the unexpected community spirit I’ve found here. I came to Vancouver Island because I felt like going somewhere that would be the complete opposite to Brussels. Going from the centre of Europe to an island on the edge of the west coast of Canada seemed to fit the bill. The worry was that, while I would embrace my time off, walking, swimming, reading and relaxing, I might start to feel isolated from my friends and family. But the gang that has organically developed in the guesthouse has become like a little family. We are all travellers, but everyone has extended their stay a few extra days, because the company and surroundings are too alluring.

image

image

image

People are starting to leave now, but hopefully the ambience will remain.

image

image

13 Comments Add yours

    1. Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Christine OG says:

    Sylvia, you are an inspiration. Loving following your journey! Best wishes !

    Like

    1. Thanks Coop! See you back in Brussels at some stage

      Like

  2. Christophe says:

    Thanks for the little trip down memory lane… Went to Tofino 3 years ago, though sadly only for 2-3 days. I remember having to stop for a bear casually crossing the road between Tofino & Ucluelet :)) Take it all in; there’s no other place quite like it!

    Like

    1. Amazing! I’m torn between wanting and not having the guts to see a bear. What an experience! Thanks for reading 😃

      Like

  3. Clare says:

    Looks awesome!!

    Like

  4. kavsxx says:

    This is inspiring 💯 if you are interested in beaches, surfing, nature or wildlife you must visit Sri Lanka 🇱🇰 xx take care

    Like

    1. Thank you! And for the recommendation…it’s going on the list!

      Like

  5. kavsxx says:

    No problem:) also instal homeaway app! You can find really good villas and etc for reasonable prices. In any country actually xx
    Forever thankful for that app 😂 x

    Like

    1. Sounds very cool. I’ll definitely look into it

      Like

Leave a Reply

